New to the blogging world… Be Kind!

Hey Internet…

So i’ve decided to start writing blogs… not for of any particular reason except purely to  avoiding writing assignments and studying!

I’ve been thinking about doing one of these things for a while now, as I am addicted to Pinterest (another method in which i delay my study time) and Instagram. Big fan of social media right here *Puts both hands up* !

My life is preeeety hectic! I’m a full time Education student, Full time athlete, Part-time Career advisor and a self confessed massive food lover. I live with intolerance’s… Wheat & Dairy… which means that everything I cook is Wheat & Dairy free!

I love that I cant eat these foods (although i do have a sneaky Skinny Latte every now and then…. but pay for it later!… so worth it though)…I have a new appreciation of food & have been exposed to an entire new world! Cannot get enough of the fresh fruit & veggies, super foods… it all excited me so much! I’m honestly like a child in a candy store.

Soooo… Is the awkward part of the date where I try and spruik up a conversation which  will keep you engaged? oh right it is! Please dont judge me!

(This is where i fill you in on my life…)

I was born with a genetic condition called Hereditary Sensory Motor Neurapathy (HSMN) Type 2.. it basically means I will die. No only joking… but we all will one day! HSMN is a condition which affects the nerves and muscles in my peripherals. So my hands and Legs. I’ve had roughly 15 surgeries over my 21 years, just to keep me walking & keeping my feet straight, stopping foot drop, fixing my posture, taking something from somewhere and putting it somewhere else… I dont understand doctor language & handwriting. Some of my grade 3 students write better than them !

But I must say the Doctors and staff at the Royal Children’s Hospital Melbourne have been amazing.. and i wouldn’t be anywhere without them! They’re angels in disguise! Honest.

So as the years went on, in & out of hospital, rehab, physio, etc… I grew up. discovered who I was and what I want to be.

I want to live the best life I possibly can… and i am writing my story!

I discovered my love for wheelchair basketball when I was 16… I always wanted to be able to be involved with sports, but since I cant run or jump.. it limited me. I was always the last to be picked at school in team sports which made me feel super cool. Mum always told me she loved me, so i guess that makes everything better.

So now wheelchair basketball is a major part of my life. I love it. Who wouldn’t want to be surrounded by amazing and inspiring athletes? Travelling all around our beautiful country and occasionally across the ocean… Tis the life!

But alas, Being a student & an athlete does put strain on my social life… My friends be like “Where you at El-Dawg?” well they’re not gangster but i think sometimes they think they are… (you never know when you’re living in the western suburbs of Melbourne… I sometimes think I am). I just occasionally want to kick back and hang out without having the thoughts of studying and/or training floating around my brain.. but i wash those thoughts away with a sip of Merlot!

…. Stay tuned for more insights of my majestic life!

One thought on “New to the blogging world… Be Kind!

  1. Yo el-dawg you make your life sound saaaa interesting, maybe try leave some time aside to see ya gangster biffle. Kthanksbye homie

Leave a Reply XX