Oat, almond and date bars

Yep! You guessed it… I decided to bake today after a big day at uni rather than studying! I know, I know priorities… I have my mum and my grandmas voice in the back of my mind all the time telling me that I should be studying! But I can’t help myself… The kitchen and I have this magnetic connection… We’re drawn to each other! … Well not really, but it’s my escape 🙂

I came home and whipped up some pumpkin soup to make me feel better… Ahhh comfort food! Yes!
Then as I went down to open my laptop to start my assignment which was due 2 weeks ago… I got right back up and got the food processor down from the cupboard! This only meant trouble!

Oat, Almond & Date Bars

Ingredients

These are all rough estimations, as I hardly measure anything! Promise I’ll take note from now on!
~ 1 cup Gluten Free Oats
~ 1/2 – 3/4 cup almonds
~ 1 cup Pitted dates
1 banana, mashed
2 teaspoons cinnamon
2 teaspoons chai seeds

Method

So chuck everything except the banana into the food processor! May need to do it in batches so that the dates and almonds are chopped evenly.
You want a rustic texture… So have small and bigger chunks of almonds marbled throughout.
Next stir through mashed banana!
Evenly spread mixture on a lined tray and refrigerate for at least an hour!

These are so quick and easy to make & packed full of good stuff! No added sugar, no flour, no eggs! Ahmygracious amazing!

20130408-202057.jpg

Leave a Reply XX